January 30, 2002

  • Seasons' Change


    Today is a rainy day in Southern Indiana.  It doesn't feel like winter rain though.  After three days of warm sunshine, the ground is "cooking".  Each drop of rain releases the smell of life happening in that thick red mud.  The hair at my nape is standing up with electricity.  The calendar must be wrong.  Winter is over.


    Now watch, I'll be knee deep in snow drifts this weekend, but that's okay.  As I observed in Minnesota, some years the earth wakes up the same way I do.  She kicks off the covers, then decides, "no, not yet" and pulls them back up again a few times before she's just so awake that she can't hide undercover anymore.

Comments (14)

  • Wow!  That was beautiful!  You are so eloquent with words!

  • Too cool.  So, you are in the tri-state KY, OH, and IN area?   I used to live in the Ohio part of that... Well, somewhat...  Our newscast was from there.  So, that counts...

    It's raining here too- a cool rain, but not cold...  I love spring, and am hoping that this is the forebear of that beauteous season!

    Yep, Tarot and Banjo....

  • Loved this......good writing!!!!!We have snow where I live right now and the warmest it as gotten is in the lower 40's.....I stay cozy inside most days, with my 'puter, my sweetie, and sometimes my darling 15 month old grandson while his mommy works.  He comes 4 days a week...

  • I was thinking of it as someone who was refusing to go to bed and was staying up as late as possible.

  • God Bless - Dale

  • Our weather is spring like here, but the coolness hit this morning again only to be displaced yet again by the warm, springlike temperatures.

    I love your description of earth waking up and wanting to go back to sleep.

    Sweet Dreams

  • My hubby is headed in your direction, hope he doesn't run into rain.

  • So - are those green shoots in your flower garden daffodils or wild onions????  

  • 79 here today and Beautiful!!  Come on Spring!!

  • Cold here today.  We are actually having 1 week of winter!  Just a trace of snow cover.  It's been pleasantly mild, although, I'm beginning to worry about the lack of snow = lack of water = potential drought conditions later on = or torrential spring rain that can bring flooding (yuck!)

  • Very nice word picture!

  • Your weather seems like ours just not right. I am just thankful we are having a cooler summer. Cheers Portia

  • That's one of the first things I saw this morning was the foggy mist that was rising up from the ground as the rain fell.  I live in S.E. Ohio, on the same path as the weather that just went through southern Indiana.  Beautiful weather, even if it does turn cold again

  • wonder on your perspective of winter now?

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment